Contact Anonymization
how can i fully, partially, or not anonymize contacts when deleting them? under gdpr, a visitor can request that their data be erased this can be incidental (a specific visitor requests their data to be deleted), or policy based (for example, the privacy statement may state that data from visitors who have not attended an event for 5 years or more will be deleted) ticketmatic supports this requirement by offering the option to anonymize contacts which contacts should you anonymize? this will primarily depend on your policy in most cases, this is after a certain period (such as 5 years) of inactivity of a contact we usually define inactivity as 'no purchases made' still, there are a number of other parameters you should carefully review before anonymizing contacts in bulk has the customer received a ticket via the app? this person may not be an active ticket buyer, but is an active visitor does the customer have an opt in? this person may never buy tickets themselves, but through a partner, friend, or acquaintance even so, they should keep receiving the newsletter to stay informed note anonymizing a contact automatically unsubscribes them from the newsletter if you don't want this, filter these contacts out beforehand does the customer have a specific relation type? some customers are registered in ticketmatic as sponsor, partner, or press these are not people who purchase tickets, but they are still contacts worth keeping in your database does the customer have an active waiting list request (for a future event)? in this case, it may be important to keep the customer for any future updates does the customer still have an outstanding credit? in that case, it's usually not advisable to anonymize this contact these parameters are suggestions it's possible that not all of them apply to your account, or that there are additional parameters you should take into account how does it work? anonymization is a feature applied when deleting contacts in the account parameters , you can configure what should happen when contacts are deleted there are three options fully anonymize all contact data is deleted partially anonymize salutation and birth year are retained for marketing purposes; all other data is deleted do not anonymize contact data is retained (default setting) for all of the above options, the orders associated with these contacts will be retained not sure which anonymization setting applies to your account, or would you like to change it? contact support\@ticketmatic com mailto\ support\@ticketmatic com ⚠️ anonymizing is a permanent action once carried out, it cannot be undone if you do this in bulk, you must be 100% certain that your selection is correct we therefore recommend that, once your selection is ready, you take a sample of a few contacts and double check that they actually meet the criteria or parameters you set you can anonymize records as follows go to public > contacts select the desired filter bulk select the contacts go to actions > delete contacts this is a manual process and cannot be automated using the filter 'last order between', you can easily filter out contacts who have not purchased tickets in the last 3 or 5 years from your contact list all the parameters listed above can be included in your selection via filters if the filter you need isn't available, contact support (support\@ticketmatic com)